Remedial Football – Week 6 Picks

I have a football related learning disability.  I am very sports savvy when it comes to baseball, basketball, or golf, but for some reason the nuances of football elude me.  I understand the basics, but have a mental block when it comes to things like plays and penalties.  Whenever I think I’ve crossed a barrier into the realm of understanding, something new comes up to change the game and I feel like I’m in Calculus all over again.  That said, I have a savant-like ability to pick the winners of football games.  Maybe it’s because my mind is unclouded by things like “stats” or “knowledge.”

Here are my confidence picks for Week 6:

14. Green Bay over Detroit. I’d pick my local grade school JV team over Detroit at this time, so there’s no way I’m picking them over the Packers in Green Bay.

13. Jacksonville over St. Louis. A team has to be in real trouble to even consider Rush Limbaugh as an owner, right?  Maybe the Rams will come out swinging in order to prove a point, but I’m betting not.

12. NY Jets over Buffalo. Buffalo looks weird the more you type it.

11. New England over Tennessee. They’re playing in New England, and New England doesn’t choke.  Sometimes.

10. Philadelphia over Oakland. Philadelphia’s always really good, right?  And Oakland hasn’t been good for a long time.  Bo knows what I’m talking about.

9. Pittsburgh over Cleveland. Wow.  A battle of two sexy-ass cities.  The eye candy is going to be off the hook. Actually, I kind of forgot this game existed, which is why I only rated it a 9.  It probably should be about a 13.

8. Carolina over Tampa Bay. Panthers can maul the heck out of Buccaneers.  Bears beets Battlestar Galactica.

7. New Orleans over NY Giants. New Orleans is currently my pet team, so I always pick them.

6. Washington over Kansas City.  I never bet against Clinton Portis.  Usually.

5. Arizona over Seattle. The Cardinals were last year’s pet team (and they made it to the Super Bowl, so bah!) and old favorites die hard in in my book.

4. Chicago over Atlanta. I usually try to pick my hometown team, and I really do think the Bears are underrated this year.  They’ve got gumption.

3. Denver over San Diego. Denver’s another pet team (usually only when they’re home — the altitude!), but they pulled it out for me last week, so I’m showing them some love over the Chargers.

2. Minnesota over Baltimore. It kills me to pick Favre over the Ravens, but Minnesota has been on quite a tear.

1. Houston over Cincinnati. Because…I’m not sure why.

Leave a Reply

