National Novel Writing Month – Day 1

Word Count: 7,197

Whew.

I know NaNoWriMo is a marathon and not a sprint, but I wanted to get out of the gate quickly this weekend to give myself some breathing room during the week.

I woke up early today (but not TOO early), coffeed up.  Made some beans and some sweet potatoes (not to go together — kind of an odd combo), and got my write on.

I am feeling pretty good so far, but then I always start off well.  This is the easy part.  The hard part is getting through the second half of the second act and then finding a way to tie the entire story up in a neat bow.

I learned some new things about my main character today, which is pretty impressive considering I’ve been working with him for about nine years now.  I’ve always liked this story, but I’m really enjoying the freedom of having so much room to embellish characters and fill in backstories and blah-blah blang.  My mind is basically a pool melted Jello at this point.  I’m not even sure if I’m making grammatical or logical sense.  I’ve been subsisting on a combination of Nerds, Milky Way bars, and Diet Coke.  It might be time to eat a veggie or three.

Tomorrow it’s back to reality, back to babies.  I’m setting my alarm for Early Ass A.M.  We’ll see how many times I hit the snooze.

In the immortal words of Jem, continue to be “truly outrageous, truly, truly, truly outrageous.”

Mags

3 Comments »

  1. HVH Said:

    Hey Mags, can you give a little backstory on the Novel for those of us who are new to the story? I’m going to have some beans and sweet potatoes for breakfast today and see if I do better writing because of it.

  2. JVH Said:

    I’m curious about the story and main character, too. I look forward to you sharing more.

  3. […] know I’ve been a little cryptic about the contents of my novel, but today I’m going to give you (my loyal readers) an EXCLUSIVE SNEAK […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

