Flowery Language – TV/Movie Quotes That Have Found Their Way Into My Vernacular

I’ve said it before.  I watch a lot of TV and I down a lot of donuts (Ha! There’s another paraphrased TV quote!), so it should be no surprise that sometimes a memorable (or not so memorable) quote or two will find their way into my everyday jive.

Here are the TV/Movie quotes I’ve caught myself uttering in conversation over the last week.

“Good job,” Randy Travis on Idol. When Randy Travis creepily said this to Kris Allen on last season’s Idol, I knew it was gold, Jerry (see below).

Usage: When someone does a “good job.”  N.B. Creepy eyebrows are a necessary accompaniment to this quote

“That’s gold, Jerry!” Banya on Seinfeld

Usage: When something is just brilliant (see above).

The following (NSFW, language-wise) clip from Magnolia (AKA the best movie of the last 15 years), boasts no fewer than four quotes I find myself using often in everyday conversation: “OK.  I’m not askin’,” “I don’t even know no ‘loud crash,'” “That ain’t mine!” and “Fo’ what, fo’ what, fo’ what?”

Usages: Usually just exclamations or whenever the quote happens to fit the situation.  Another acceptable random exclamatory quote from this movie is “Let me tell you ’bout the worm.”

“Whoops…” from The Office. Unfortunately I couldn’t find a clip of this one because it’s just too, too slight a moment.  It’s from the Season 3 finale, “The Job,” and it’s what Jim says right after Michael asks him if he and Karen are going to be doing it.

Usage: When someone puts a foot in their mouth.  Also acceptable is Adam Sandler’s “Whaaaat?” from The Wedding Singer

“And what they are is just stone cold gay,” from Parks and Recreation. Same thing for this Parks and Recreation quote.  This one is from the episode where Leslie inadvertently marries two male penguins at the zoo and as a result becomes a gay icon in Pawnee.  She goes to the town’s gay club and is impressed by how everyone is just being themselves and dancing and having a good time.

Usage: An addendum to any personal description.  i.e. “Mary is funny and she loves puppies and what she is, is just stone cold gay.”

4 Comments »

  1. Jenn W Said:

    I say “Settle down, Beavis,” a LOT.

    There are more, but this is the only one I’ll admit to at 8:37 AM EST.

  2. Nora Said:

    We use “Weeeelllllity, wellity, wellity” in my family quite often. Whenever someone does or says or thinks something even remotely high-brow, or (as it was originally used) whenever someone needs something from someone else.

    Homer: Well, well, well. Flawless Flanders wants help from Stinkypants Simpson.
    Ned: Yeah, I guess I do.
    Homer: Welly, welly, welly. Mr. Clean wants to hang with Dirty Dingus McGee.
    Ned: Well, will you teach me the secret of your intoxicating lust for life?
    Homer: Wellity, wellity, wellity–
    Ned: Stop that! [edit]

    It’s actually possible that my siblings and I communicate with each other at least 50% of the time by using Simpsons quotes, come to think of it. Is that wrong?

  3. Mags Said:

    Jenn, for some reason that reminds me of “Throw it down, big man,” which we use a lot and is (I believe) a Bill Walton (is that a person?) quote from, like, an NBA-related Nintendo game. I am probably way off. I’m sure the husband will correct me when he remembers his login information.

  4. Mags Said:

    Nora, I think more families should communicate via sit-com quotes. I’ve rarely had a conversation with my SIL that hasn’t devolved into a series of Arrested Development moments. That’s hyperbole…a little.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

