Golden Globes – Movie Predictions

I did some ranting earlier today about the TV Globes, but here are my movie predictions (and some rants, probably).

Best Picture – Drama

Avatar, The Hurt Locker, Inglourious Basterds, Precious, Up in the Air

In this category, there are three movies that I very strongly liked and two movies that I very strongly had major issues with.  I would have no problem at all with The Hurt Locker, Inglourious Basterds, or Up in the Air winning Best Picture.  They are all very strong films and I enjoyed each of them.  Avatar, while stunning to look at, is horribly written.  The story is trite.  The characters are one-dimensional.  Because of the story’s failings, I have a lot of trouble awarding this film as a whole package.  Where Precious fails is in the direction/editing.  I really disliked the dream sequences.  They took me out of the film and made what should’ve been a completely heart-wrenching story a little silly at times.  The acting in that movie is unimpeachable.  Any of the actors in this movie deserves to be recognized for their work.

Best Picture – Musical/Comedy

(500) Days of Summer, The Hangover, It’s Complicated, Julie & Julia, Nine

I did not see Nine.  According to my husband (and most critics), I did not miss much.  The liked the remaining four movies in this category very much.  It’s anyone’s game, but I think the HFP will go with one of the mature comedies in this case.

Best Actor – Drama

Jeff Bridges, George Clooney, Colin Firth, Morgan Freeman, Tobey Maguire

Out of these five performances, I’ve only seen two.  The buzz seems to be behind Jeff Bridges, though, so I’ll pick him.  I’d love to see George Clooney win, though.

Best Actress – Drama

Emily Blunt, Sandra Bullock, Helen Mirren, Carey Mulligan, Gabourey Sidibe

Ugh.  I’ve only seen Sandra Bullock’s and Gabourey Sidibe’s performances, but I’m going to predict that Emily Blunt wins this award because she’s in a period piece and she’s British.

Best Actor – Musical or Comedy

Daniel Day-Lewis, Matt Damon, Robert Downey, Jr., Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Michael Stuhlbarg

It’s hard to vote against DDL or RDJ, but I’m thinking Matt Damon takes this one home.

Best Actress – Musical or Comedy

Sandra Bullock, Marion Cotillard, Julia Roberts, Meryl Streep, and Meryl Streep

Meryl Streep will win for Julie and Julia, as it should be.  She will also win the Oscar for this role, because I no longer want to live in a world where Meryl Streep has the same number of Oscars as Hilary Swank.

Supporting Actor

Matt Damon, Woody Harrelson, Christopher Plummer, Stanley Tucci, Christoph Waltz

This category begins and ends with Christop Waltz, who was absolutely brilliant in Inglourious Basterds.

Supporting Actress

Penelope Cruz, Vera Farmiga, Anna Kendrick, Mo’Nique, Julianne Moore

This is Mo’Nique’s category to lose, but I’m pulling for one of the Up in the Air girls to pull off an upset.

Best Director

Kathryn Bigelow, James Cameron, Clint Eastwood, Jason Reitman, Quentin Tarantino

I think this is going to be one of the few years where the Best Picture and Best Director are split.  I’m pulling for either Kathryn Bigelow or Quentin Tarantino in this category.

Leave a Reply

