Breaking Up Is Hard (But Necessary) to Do — Part II

A few weeks ago I put several TV shows on notice — Get better, or get packin’.

I’ve come to some gut-wrenching decisions regarding three shows.  For one of the shows it’s good news, for the other two…not so much.

Community – In the past, you’ve provided me with fewer laughs than an episode of NCIS, but your last two episodes (the holiday show and the start of the second semester) were much more satisfying tonally.  Joel McHale, you’ve changed for the better.  I hope this positive character growth isn’t just a one -time thing like…

Chuck – Dear Chuck, you almost lost me last season with your repetitiveness and your whining about Sarah; but you made great strides with last year’s season finale.  It looked like we were headed in a much more exciting and mature direction.  But no.  Now you’re back to your old ways, working at the Buy More, pining over Sarah, fretting over the stupid Intersect, yadda yadda yadda.  Nothing has really changed, has it, Chuck?  So, because you couldn’t hold up your end of the bargain, I’m doing what I said I would do and walking away.

Glee – I’ve known it was over between us for a long time, but my visceral reaction to your winning the Golden Globe last night really sent me the clear message that I need to move on for my own health and sanity.  Maybe the fact that you make me so angry means that deep down there’s still something between us.  I don’t know.  I do know that I’ve been holding on to the glory of our first meeting for months now and you’ve never lived up to expectations.  So, good-bye, Glee, perhaps forever.

4 Comments »

  1. Deliciously Said:

    You are so full of it. You will keep watching. Plus, Chuck is not pining for Sarah any more. They are just friends now. And working at Buy More… of course he is there. The castle is underneath it. You think they are going to change it? How much do you think WB can afford to rebuild sets every season? Ridiculous. Not to mention that Chuck and Sarah will end up together this season.

  2. Mags Said:

    Oh, Chuck Superfan (who thinks that Chuck is on the WB and not on NBC. Of course, NBC is certainly a network that can’t afford to rebuild sets every season), thanks for commenting.

  3. Nora Said:

    That is so funny…I had the exact same reaction and subsequent confirmed decision when Glee was announced last night. If I actually swear at the TV when a show wins, I clearly need to reevaluate some things. 🙂

  4. Jenny Said:

    I like Glee. I think it’s Stockholm Syndrome from going to a performing arts high school.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

